Serena Apologizes Fully; Fallout Will Continue

Posted on September 14, 2009

0


Serena apology, take 2:

“I want to amend my press statement of yesterday and want to make it clear as possible – I want to sincerely apologise first to the lineswoman, Kim Clijsters, the US Tennis Association and mostly tennis fans everywhere for my inappropriate outburst,” Williams said.

“I’m a woman of great pride, faith and integrity and I admit when I’m wrong. I need to make it clear to all young people that I handled myself inappropriately and it’s not the way to act – win or lose, good call or bad call in any sport, in any manner.

“I like to lead by example. We all learn from experiences both good and bad. I will learn and grow from this, and be a better person as a result.”

Rather than quibble about the reason it took two apologies or the genuineness of the sentiment,  let’s just say:  APOLOGY ACCEPTED. Conduct not forgotten.

Suspension?

There is a legitimate argument that Serena should face suspension. This is laid out most persuasively by Bill Dwyre (Serena Williams Makes a Fool of Herself and Deserves Punishment) (hat tip, fearless Philly fan Carol). Dwyer’s recitation of Serena’s brazen press conference comments is worth a read.

Although tennis gives players harsh (some say too harsh) suspensions for drugs, I know of no precedent in women’s tennis for a suspension. The executives running the women’s tour are gutless wonders, so I doubt they’d have the stones to punish Serena with a suspension. (Remember, these idiots are the ones who responded to rampant illegal coaching by making coaching legal at non-grand slams)

Economic Fallout

As astute tennis (and LSU fan) Mary pointed out today, Serena is likely to suffer repercussions in the endorsement arena. Especially now that companies will have Melanie Oudin as an alternative. I know she hasn’t won anything and has no resume, but Oudin is fresh, recognizable and most importantly, cheaper. Consider:

In this economy Buick actually dropped Tiger Woods, the most bankable athlete on the planet, because of Detroit’s economic woes. That ended a nine year partnership.

Just last month Bobby Labonte, 2000 NASCAR Champion, was pulled from seven races because Yates Racing could not find a sponsor for him after Ask.com dropped out. The team was able to secure sponsorship from two regional companies for Eric Darnell, who has never made a NASCAR sprint cup start. So the young, unproven racer is in, while the established champ sits out.

I don’t expect Nike, which designed an entire line of clothing lionizing McEnroe’s You Cannot Be Serious tirade, to sever ties with Serena. (I don’t expect much from Nike, ever, since the company has one of the most atrocious labor records). But wish Serena luck securing new deals, because she’s going to need it.

Congratulations to Venus and Serena for winning three out of four doubles titles this year. They captured the US Open doubles today.

Posted in: Uncategorized