Browsing All Posts published on »September 14th, 2009«

Serena Apologizes Fully; Fallout Will Continue

September 14, 2009

0

Serena apology, take 2: “I want to amend my press statement of yesterday and want to make it clear as possible – I want to sincerely apologise first to the lineswoman, Kim Clijsters, the US Tennis Association and mostly tennis fans everywhere for my inappropriate outburst,” Williams said. “I’m a woman of great pride, faith […]

Can Del Potro Pull a Safin?

September 14, 2009

0

The men’s final is just underway. A few notes on Delpo’s chances: Remember when Safin shocked the world by beating Pete Sampras in the US Open final? Veteran player playing on less than a day’s rest, youngster who had the power to blow him right off the court. Just putting it out there. His play […]

Kate Harding Doesn’t Know What She’s Talking About

September 14, 2009

0

I told you non-tennis folks would weigh in on The Incident and make it more complicated than it was. I told you they would claim that Serena was treated worse than John McEnroe and that everyone would conveniently forget that McEnroe was defaulted for similar conduct after tennis decided that it would no longer tolerate […]