The Beguiling Williams Sisters Strike Again

Posted on June 24, 2011

0


Love ‘em or hate ‘em, and I do a lot of both, the Williams Sisters are back. The one thing I was certain of before the tournament began was that I was done with Venus and Serena. In years past I always anticipated their returns because I knew they would bring controversy, great drama and even greater play. But this year I just didn’t have the mental energy. Why? For the first time in several years, women’s tennis is showing signs of life. Not just signs, it is alive and in the beginning stages of a real rebirth. The comeback has happened under circumstances I did not think possible – without presumptive heirs to the throne Ivanovic/Jankovic/Kuznetzova/Safina/ Sharapova and despite inconsistent play from the oft-injured Kim Clijsters and the MIA Williams Sisters. So I was done.

Then Serena was pushed to the brink in her first match back on Centre Court. She dissolves into tears of joy and suddenly I’m Michael Corleone in Godfather III…“just when I thought I was out, they pull me back in!” Earlier this year she was in a hospital bed with blood clots in her lungs, wondering if she would ever play Wimbledon again. Now here she is just so grateful to be a part of this wonderful game. It was a rare show of vulnerability by Serena. Gratitude is not something Serena shows us – if she has an Oprah gratitude journal, it would surprise me.

But let’s give credit where it is due. She has a passion for competition that is unmatched by her generation. Every time Serena leaves and then shows up to dominate again, we are left with the question what does that say about the women’s game? I think I finally know the answer. Nothing. It says nothing. It says everything about Serena’s greatness as a champion. She deserves to be in the same breath as Steffi Graf and Martina Navratilova and Billie Jean King and Chris Evert. She hasn’t played as consistently, nor showed the commitment to women’s professional tennis that I believe she should have. The last year has shown us that the women’s game could survive and thrive. Tennis is still bigger than Serena Williams.

Serena pulled out another tough three-setter today. Venus had her own scare. I feel generally that Serena could win this tournament and you had better beat her before the quarters… because after that she might be too sharp. Venus is enjoyable to watch on grass, but she’s not in the shape that Serena is, nor does she have the consistency.  I wish ESPN could cover the Williams Sisters with more slivers of honesty. But I’ve wished that forever, and this channel is never going to be fair and balanced toward the American players.

I had to laugh when I saw the headlines today:  Serena and Venus Bitch About Playing on Court 2. “They like to put us on Court 2, me and Venus, for whatever reason,” said Serena. “I haven’t figured it out yet. Maybe one day we’ll figure it out. But obviously they’re not gonna change. [The men’s defending champions] are never moved across. Actually, Venus and I have won more Wimbledons together than a lot of the players, or by ourselves in doubles even. Like I said, they’re not going to change, doesn’t look like.”

Lest you think they are just bitching to be prima-donnas, they actually have a point. There is a gender disparity in the court scheduling at Wimbledon. You don’t see Roger on Court 2.  I know I’ve said this before but it bears repeating – Venus is as much a champion on the lawns as Roger, but she only gets half the respect. And I think she earned it. We also have evidence of a looks disparity, with Sharapova and her one title permanently ensconsed on Centre or Court 1.

I would love to cross-examine the tournament referee about the scheduling, because it flies in the face of logic to have either Williams on an outside court when they are two of the most popular players among fans.

Let’s keep this in perspective though. The Great Pete Sampras was relegated to Court 2 in his last appearance at Wimbledon, which also struck me as disrespectful. But Court 2 is known as the Graveyard of Champions because of all of the greats who perished there. Only Rafa and Roger have been granted the special privilege of avoiding Court 2. I guess Roger and Rafa are just special unicorns who are unable to show their horns if they have to play a one-sided match on an outside court.

As for the Williams Sisters, right now I’m enjoying their controversies and dramas as a complement to the women’s game as a whole. We’ll see how many more days (hours?) that lasts.