WIMBLEDON GOSSIP ROUND-UP

Posted on June 26, 2009

0


Roddick & Wife Argue Via Twitter

Andy Roddick’s wife, swimsuit model Brooklyn Decker, launched a sneak-attack on her husband after he criticized what he described as her “crappy” taste in music. The venue? Twitter, where she revealed to the world that Roddick is a Rick Astley fan.

“I busted my wife on some of her crappy music. She brought up Rick Astley. I can’t deny it. It’s in my iPod. I bet it’s in your iPod too, so shut up!”

Attacking her husband via Twitter? Great idea – send the memo to Jenny Sanford.

Monica Seles Dating Old Guy Who Owns Sabres

Monica has always liked the geriatric, so it’s really no surprise she’s allegedly seeing 67-year old Tom Gosliano, the owner of NHL’s the Buffalo Sabres. He’s pretty happy about it. No comment from 35-year old Monica.

Serena Pissed She Can’t Eat

Serena is none to happy with the All-England Club for banning food from the locker room. I have to side with Serena on this one. I’d be mad if I suddenly couldn’t eat at work. I realize the locker rooms at SW19 are pretty special – at least the ones reserved for the seeded players – but still, they’re trying to fuel and hydrate.

“I’m confused. There are bananas and Kit Kats in the locker room and there is a sign that says ‘no consuming.”

Fight the Power, Serena!

Navratilova Sued by Ex-Not-Wife

Who wants gay marriage in America? Martina Navratilova, surely. Because with gay marriage comes gay divorce. Instead, she’s being sued by a woman claiming to have “evicted” from Martina’s life after seven years. (You say “evicted”, I say “dumped.”) What’s she after? 50%. That might be the result in some states. Forget community property. We would advise Martina to marry in a state where marriage is legal for another reason – so she can get an ironclad pre-nump!

And Finally…. Andy Murray’s Girlfriend

From my Save the Best for Last File, comes this lovely headline courtesy of British tabloid Anorak:

Kim Sears As Andy Murray Mounts

Honest to God, they don’t leave too much to the imagination, do they? You should see all the headlines about Murray. I particularly like the one that calls him flat-out ugly. But where was I? Kim Sears… I don’t know who she is, she’s rather meh in my opinion, but the tabloids love her:

Murray’s doubles’ partner Kim Sears (more nominative determinism, folks!) is sending “temperatures soaring further in sexy shades and shorts”.

From our vantage point, we can see the 21-year-old “wow onlookers in a pair of tiny denim hotpants”.

The story clicked through to a page noting that Sears “sipped a cold drink as she wowed onlookers in a pair of tiny denim hotpants as she supported her man in his first round clash against Robbie Kendrick. Champagne, Pimm’s and ice cream were at a premium as fans who packed Murray Mount struggled to keep the sun and temperatures of 25°C (75°F) at bay.”

That’s Wimbledon for ‘ya:  Champagne, Pimm’s, ice cream, tennis and tiny denim hotpants! We should all have such a weekend…

Posted in: Gossip