I Don’t Know Nothing (Except I Told You Rafa was Hurt)

Posted on June 7, 2009

0


 

Nadal practicing a forehand. See the knee bands?

Nadal practicing a forehand. See the knee bands?

 

We are about to close the books on a fascinating 09 French Open and I am reminded, yet again, of why I must never bet on tennis. My predictions have been horrid. Judging by the prognostications of tennis writers and bloggers, I was not alone, and I’m not even referring to Nadal. None of us really believed that Soderling would make the finals after upending Rafa, but there he is, about to take on Roger. If he can pull off that double – beating Nadal and Federer – it may well be the greatest upset victory I can remember.

Nadal winning his fifth French Open was thought to be a lock. His play and defeat were baffling and I just couldn’t believe that Soderling, who deserves much more credit than I’ve publicly given him, could have done this in four sets without help. The news today that Rafa has withdrawn from the Queens Club tournament with a knee injury confirms my suspicions that he was hurt. Some suggest it’s not a real withdrawal, just an instance of needing a break. Could be, everyone knows Nadal’s schedule is too much. But those knees are problematic. Don’t forget, he wears knee bands to keep his kneecaps in place. Another reason Uncle Toni should never, ever have him play a clay court tournament the week after Wimbledon (after a long clay season, two grueling grand slams and a drastic surface change). That’s asking for trouble. 

I really want a healthy Nadal for Wimbledon. After what he and Roger achieved in 2008, followed by the shocking final in Melbourne in January and Roger’s probable opportunity to break Sampras’ record, this promises to be the most anticipated Wimbledon of my lifetime.

Posted in: Uncategorized