Tennis Reacts to Obama

Posted on January 21, 2009

0


I have never before addressed politics on any of my blogs. Tennis, like all sports, is a welcome respite from the real world. But it would be ridiculous not to mention the inauguration of Barack Obama.

Americans Down Under were tuned in to news from the home front, even though the players generally couldn’t get up at 4 a.m. to watch the proceedings live.

ESPN’s Patrick McEnroe, Chris Fowler and Brad Gilbert did stay up to watch the inauguration live from Australia.

Mary Carillo said she watched close friend Robin Roberts on Good Morning America. Roberts’ late father was one of the Tuskegee Airmen.

Billie Jean King: “The whole world saw someone of color in this country (become president), and seeing black and white and others, Asians, Hispanics, all together in D.C. — it sends out a picture. To see it is to be it. I think that’s why it’s so important for these accomplishments to keep moving along the pathway, that both men and women feel empowered. I’m still waiting for a woman.”

Bob Bryan called it “a great day for America, I’m sorry I couldn’t be there.”

Larry Stefanki, Andy Roddkick’s coach:

Stefanki, a big Obama supporter with family members involved in the Democratic presidential campaign, has already picked up on the theme.

“The philosophy that Obama projects, his background — I’ve read both his books — where he comes from and what he has attained in his life is very, very spot-on for me,” Stefanki said after Roddick’s opening-round win. “I think Andy’s also with the viewpoint of ‘change is good.’ He hired me; he could pick anybody.”

James Blake “I hope it has significance to a lot of people in the States. We’re in a time that seems very historic,” he said.

“We’re looking for positive change in the States. We’re in some situations that are less than ideal in our country.

“I think if there’s any man for the job that’s ahead of him that can deal with the tasks and the pressures of being President in this tumultuous time, it’s Barack Obama.”

The morning ESPN telecast said Blake’s friend organized the inaugural parade.

Serena Williams: “This is an amazing moment for American history,” Serena said hours before the inauguration.

“This morning I was watching on the TV before I went out to play. I looked at my arm and I literally had chill bumps.”

Venus Williams: “I think it’s exciting that in America we can have a (black) president or that we can have diversity.”

“We’ve had a long history in America of… past racial strife. My parents grew up in the South, things like that. So it is nice to see that diversity.”

Serena though, had to take it one step further. “I try to stay politically neutral, don’t get involved in worldly matters,” Serena said.

“It’s easy for me because I was born and raised a Jehovah’s Witness (but) for me, because I am black, seeing that happen, I would be blind if I didn’t take interest in it or I would be lying if I said I wasn’t interested in what was going on.”

Ok, fine. The Williams Sisters don’t vote because Jehova’s Witnesses don’t vote… Theory being that voting allows one to be politically neutral or unwordly. I try to take these matters at face value but we all know I don’t understand religion. I think Americans have a civic obligation, a moral duty, to cast their vote, especially when you consider the women and men who marched and fought and died for us to do so. In our democracy, we have freedom of (AND FROM) religion, so I respect their right to do whatever they want and if that means abstaining, FINE.